Why Patrol for Free?

a-cap-black-pose-3

One of my friends and de facto advisors is concerned that I do too much for free, from random acts of kindness to advocacy. My latest pro bono feat, Cap Black Street Patrol, has him concerned. I do it because

1. It’s the right thing to do ( women are actively attacked in an area I frequent )

and

2. New Orleans 51% Black male unemployment rate makes it highly unlikely I’d get hired or a contract to provide this service.

I’ve done street patrol for years as a logical progression of professional and advocacy interests. Crime doesn’t heed the latest spiel from ivory tower echo chambers. Visible deterrence and awareness can be created without snails pace rationing from politicians and pundits.

New Orleans government has granted violent youth dangerous latitude and citizens pay a daily price for this indulgence. I do street patrol for free because it’s the right thing to do and desperately needs doing.

This may not put my friend at ease but brings comfort to folks feeling very uncomfortable about their safety.

-Nadra Enzi aka Cap Black, RLSH: real life superhero for folks feeling like zeroes

*Donate* if you believe in creating safety together instead of awaiting rationing from government.

#IUniteWithBlue Tour Creator. 

Leave a Reply

